V for Vendetta, The Love Story…

Melanie J.
5 min readNov 7, 2020
https://geektyrant.com/news/10-fun-facts-about-v-for-vendetta

I watched the movie V for Vendetta for the first time tonight. When it was released back in 2006, I was a stupid kid only concerned with hanging out, partying, and having a good time. So, if I saw the movie back then, my very immature brain probably wouldn’t have understood the political and social unrest, coupled with the need for vengeance and the quest to gain freedom which were the main motifs of the movie. Therefore, I am glad that I watched it tonight because watching it with a mature brain, as well as currently seeing some of the chaos in the movie that have come to fruition, made it so much more relevant.

V for Vendetta is all too surreal. Are we literally living this movie? It all seemed too real like the movie was made as a warning for us all. I could discuss all the chaotic aspects of the movie, you know “remember, remember the 5th of November,” but I am sure that topic has been covered. Instead, I will discuss the amazing love story that evolved during the movie.

Natalie Portman’s character Evey Hammond, fell in love with the main character, V, played by Hugo Weaving. V was a masked anarchist freedom fighter who hated the government and believed that the government should fear its people and not the other way around. So, he made it his mission to seek vengeance and created chaos that sent the government into a frenzy while they tried to capture him…

--

--